Day 13 ** Write a letter to a band or artist that has gotten you through some tough ass days

13 Feb

Okay, first of all, where is the damn picture for Day 13? Missing! I tried to find another but am partial to the cookie cutter version that I began with, so no picture today.

Anyways, today I am supposed to write a letter to a band who has gotten me through tough times. The first thought that came to mind was, “WTF?” I did some browsing and I’m not the only one who apparently thinks this assignment is dumb. So I’m diverging…

Music is funny. I associate different parts of my life with different bands, and you probably do that as well. So this post is a sort of musical journey through my life. Enjoy. 🙂

Tiffany – New Inside

This came out in 1990 (I actually thought I was younger than 8 when it came out but oh well). My dad bought me a bright yellow Walkman, my first one. I used to listen to this over and over and over. My dad and I have a weird relationship. We’ve never been “close.” I can remember watching movies with him where the daughter would call the father “Daddy” or they would have one of those perfect father daughter relationships, and I would feel weird. But I remember my dad bought this for me along with that yellow Walkman.

New Kids on the Block – Please Don’t Go

My first concert. I can still remember the box that the tickets came in at Christmas. 🙂

Boyz II Men and TLC
OMG, I must have listened to these CDs a million times.

Toni Braxton – Unbreak My Heart
A guy I crushed on for 2 years…we danced to this song at our Freshman prom. (Yes, at my school underclassmen went to Prom.) We ended up dating when we were seniors.

Fiona Apple – Sleep to Dream
Listened to this one a lot when I was trying to figure out who I was, who my friends were, etc.

Dixie Chicks
Memories of driving back and forth from an old boyfriend’s house during the summer. Not a care in the world.

Blink 182
First concert at the Gorge Amphitheatre (DMB plays there each year, so does Jack Johnson). I was pregnant, lol.

Todd Agnew – Grace Like Rain
My MIL is very religious (me not so much) and gave me this CD. This got me through some hard times when J and I were fighting. I can remember listening to this and calling my MIL at 3am after J and I got in a fight one night.

Green Day
Second concert J and I went to together. Spent the weekend together. Was a horrible night. He got way too drunk and was a big dick that night. Ugh.

The others I already posted about…Gary Allan’s “Why” and Secondhand Serenade’s “Tonight”.

Those are the ones that stick out to me right at this moment…in my sleep deprived mind. I’m a girl used to 8 hours of sleep a night and getting up at 2:45 to go to the airport, and then flying across the country can really screw a girl up. Especially when my traveling buddy wants to eat breakfast at 7am, which is like 4 am to my body…and I usually don’t eat until 10 or so. Speaking of sleep, I should probably get to it. Day 1 of my meetings start tomorrow.

Night all!

Leave a comment